Alaska News

Hilcorp To Purchase Port MacKenzie LNG Plant

Cook Inlet oil and gas producer Hilcorp has announced purchase of an LNG plant at Port MacKenzie.

Judge Temporarily Halts EPA’s 404(c) Process on Pebble Mine

U.S. District Court Judge H. Russel Holland issued a preliminary injunction Monday, temporarily halting the EPA's 404(c) process regarding the Pebble Mine. Download Audio

Details Sketchy on Expanded Deferred Action for Undocumented Immigrants

Now, some undocumented immigrants may be eligible for an expanded deferred action program announced last week by President Barack Obama. Download Audio

New Activity Seen At Mount Shishaldin

There has been some new activity at Mount Shishaldin. The Alaska Volcano Observatory upgraded the volcano to an orange status several months ago, but Shishaldin started acting differently Sunday night. Download Audio

Alaska News Nightly: November 24, 2014

Judge Temporarily Halts EPA's 404(c) Process on Pebble Mine; Walker Transition Team Brings 250 Delegates to Shape Policy; Details Sketchy on Expanded Deferred Action for Illegal Immigrants; New Activity Seen At Mount Shishaldin; BBAHC Testing All Expectant Mothers For Opioid Use; For Better Storm Warnings, NWS Goes Local; Interior's Dry Weather To Continue; Report: Subsidized logging costs feds millions; "Frost" Brings Art Seekers into Anchorage Parks Download Audio

BBAHC testing all expectant mothers for opioid use

A few weeks ago, police were called to the Kanakanak Hospital in Dillingham when a woman six months pregnant and a mother who had just given birth that day were caught smoking an oxycodone pill in the bathroom of the maternity room. The disturbing incident highlighted just how severe the use of opioids like heroin and oxycodone has become in Bristol Bay. Now the hospital has made the testing for opioids routine for all pregnancies. Download Audio

For Better Storm Warnings, NWS Goes Local

Predicting storms in a fast-changing environment isn’t easy. But the National Weather Service is slowly working on a plan to improve their forecasts in Alaska -- and across the country -- by adding in the view from the ground. Download Audio

Interior’s Dry Weather To Continue

The Interior is forecast to get a little snow over the next couple days, but the trend is for continued dry weather. Download Audio

Report: Subsidized logging costs feds millions

A new report says the U.S. Forest Service is wasting millions of dollars by propping up a failing Southeast Alaska timber industry. It says the Tongass National Forest should instead invest in projects supporting tourism and fishing, which are growing segments of the economy. Download Audio

“Frost” Brings Art Seekers into Anchorage Parks

Frost is one of Anchorage's newest public art projects. It's a scavenger hunt with photo clues that lead you to a place where the artists have mixed lights and film into a temporary art piece. We went on a quest to find the newest installation. Download Audio