JudgeStephensKetchikan Superior Court Judge Trevor Stephens has been reappointed as the presiding judge for Alaska’s First Judicial District.

On Friday, Alaska Supreme Court Chief Justice Dana Fabe announced the appointment of presiding judges for the state’s four judicial districts.

Presiding judges are appointed annually by the chief justice. In addition to their regular judicial duties, presiding judges have administrative responsibilities for their district.

Judge Stephens was appointed to the Superior Court in Ketchikan in 2000.  Before that, he worked in private practice, as an Assistant Public Defender, and as an Assistant District Attorney and District Attorney.

On Friday, Chief Justice Fabe also named Superior Court Judge Paul A. Roetman for the Second Judicial District; Superior Court Judge William F. Morse for the third; and Superior Court Judge Michael A. MacDonald for the fourth.