Sam Bergeron and Spencer Strassburg filed Friday for three-year seats open this year on the Ketchikan City Council.

They are the latest candidates to file for local office since the filing period opened on Aug. 1st.

Bergeron has served previously on the City Council. He had to resign in the middle of his most recent term because of a job that took him out of state. Strassburg is a local business owner. He’s been vocal about the recent tobacco tax issue, opposing the proposed $3-per-pack tax, which also will tax wholesale tobacco and e-cigarettes.

There are two open three-year seats on the City Council. Incumbent Bob Sivertsen filed earlier this week for re-election to his three-year seat. DeAnn Karlson holds the other seat open this year.

There is also a one-year City Council seat open, currently held by Matt Olsen. He is moving out of state and has resigned from the Council. Thursday was Olsen’s last meeting.

The city mayor seat currently held by Lew Williams III also is open this election.

For the Ketchikan Gateway Borough, two three-year terms are open on the Assembly. Those seats are currently held by Todd Phillips and Jim Van Horn. Phillips is unable to run for re-election due to term limits.

Three three-year seats also are open on the Ketchikan School Board. Those are now held by Ralph Beardsworth, Stephen Bradford and Conan Steele.

The filing period for Ketchikan city and borough elected offices closes on Aug. 25.