Borough Seal

With about a week left before the filing period closes, two candidates have thrown their names in for Ketchikan city and borough office Monday.

On the city side, Julie Isom filed today to run for the one-year seat open on the Ketchikan City Council. She’ll face off against George Lybrand.

Three candidates are running for two three-year seats on the City Council. They are incumbent Bob Sivertsen, former Council Member Sam Bergeron and political newcomer Spencer Strassburg.

City Mayor Lew Williams III also has filed for re-election. As of Monday, he was unopposed.

For the borough, Conan Steele filed to retain his seat on the Ketchikan School Board. He was appointed to that seat after Colleen Scanlon resigned. So far, Steele is the only candidate to file for any Ketchikan Gateway Borough seat.

Two additional three-year seats are open on the Ketchikan School Board. Those are now held by Ralph Beardsworth and Stephen Bradford.

For the Borough Assembly, two three-year terms are open. Those seats are currently held by Todd Phillips and Jim Van Horn. Phillips is not able to run for re-election due to term limits.

The filing period for Ketchikan city and borough elected offices closes on Aug. 25th.