The latest candidate to file for local office is Scott Davis, also known as Sheen Davis. Davis turned in paperwork Tuesday to run for one of two three-year seats open on the Ketchikan Gateway Borough Assembly.

Davis is the only candidate to file for Assembly so far. The two open seats are now held by Jim Van Horn and Todd Phillips. Phillips can’t run for re-election because of term limits.

Conan Steele filed yesterday to retain his seat on the Ketchikan School Board. He was appointed to that seat after Colleen Scanlon resigned. Steele is the only School Board candidate to file as of Tuesday afternoon.

Two additional three-year seats are open on the Ketchikan School Board. Those are now held by Ralph Beardsworth and Stephen Bradford.

On the city side, Julie Isom and George Lybrand are running for the one-year seat open on the Ketchikan City Council.

Three candidates are running for two three-year seats on the City Council. They are incumbent Bob Sivertsen, former Council Member Sam Bergeron and political newcomer Spencer Strassburg.

City Mayor Lew Williams III also has filed for re-election. As of Tuesday, he was unopposed.

The filing period for Ketchikan city and borough elected offices closes on Aug. 25th.