Here is election information for Prince of Wales Island communities in the KRBD listening area. In many of the races, candidates are running unopposed.

Voters in Craig will elect two city council members for three-year terms. Only one person is running, incumbent Julie McDonald. The second seat is held by Dave Creighton who is not seeking reelection. The seat is open to write-in candidates.

There are also two three-year terms for Craig school board. Incumbents Marla Dillman and Daniel Nelson are being challenged by Tristan Douville.

Craig city voters will also consider a $4.4 million bond proposition to improve the downtown harbor. Construction of two breakwaters in front of the cannery property is proposed.

The City of Thorne Bay will elect three city council members. Incumbent Greg Kerkof will face a challenge from Thom Cunningham for a three-year term for Seat C. Incumbent Jon Stram is being challenged by Kim Redmond for Seat E.

There is also a one-year city council seat with newcomers Wes Craske, Deann Minnillo and Robert Hartwell vying for Seat G.

The filing period to run for office in the City of Klawock ends September 25th. There are two three-year terms open on the city council and one three-year term open on the school board.  The filing period for Hydaburg also closes later this week. There are two 3-year terms open on the city council, and one 1-year seat on the council. There are three seats open on the school board with one-year, two-year and three-year terms available.

On Revilla Island, the filing period closes this Friday in the City of Saxman.  There are two three-year seats open on the Saxman City Council.

Municipal elections for these communities and Ketchikan are October 6.  Metlakatla’s municipal election coincides with the November 3rd General Election. For more information, go to K-R-B-D dot ORG.

This post has been updated to correct information about the Hydaburg elections.