Voting booths await early voters at Ketchikan’s Gateway Recreation Center on Oct. 20, 2020. (Eric Stone/KRBD)

A number of seats on governing bodies across Prince of Wales Island and Metlakatla are up for election this fall. Here’s a look at what’s on the ballot.

There are two open seats on Metlakatla’s school board. As of Tuesday, Bruce Janes has filed for a seat, alongside incumbents Franki Williams and Colleen Brendible. 

This election is administered by Alaska’s Division of Elections. That’s because the district falls under the description of a Regional Education Attendance Area. Metlakatla is REAA 20. Candidates have until Friday to file to run in October’s election. 

Additionally, six seats are open on Metlakatla’s governing Tribal Council. All six seats are for two year terms. That election is Nov. 8. 

On Prince of Wales Island, two seats are open on both the Craig City Council and the Craig City School District School Board. Each is for a three-year term. The filing deadline is Sept. 2.

In Thorne Bay, two seats are open on the City Council. Both seats are for three-year terms. The filing period opens Aug. 15 and ends Sept. 2.

Four seats are available on the Southeast Island School District’s school board. That district serves students in Thorne Bay, Coffman Cove, Naukati Bay, Kasaan, Hollis, Port Alexander and Whale Pass. Two of the seats carry three-year terms, one is for one year, and one is for two years.

SISD also is considered an REAA — number 19. As of Monday, five candidates had filed — Sandy Curtis of Craig, Amanda Blankenship of Thorne Bay, Risa Carlson of Thorne Bay, Molly Kimzey of Port Alexander, and Rebecca “Becky” Saffold. 

The filing deadline for the SISD election is Friday. Municipal election day is Oct. 4.