Oaths of office were administered during Wednesday’s Ketchikan School Board meeting for three members elected on Oct. 3rd. Incumbents Diane Gubatayao and Glenn Brown retained their seats during that election, and Glen Thompson was elected to his first term on the board.

The board also chose new officers for the year. Board president Trevor Shaw was re-elected to that position. He and Matt Eisenhower were both nominated. Shaw was elected by secret ballot.

Glenn Brown was nominated to retain his position as vice president. There were no other nominees, so he was declared the winner without a vote. Diane Gubatayao was nominated to be the new clerk/treasurer by the incumbent clerk, Alma Parker. Again, there were no other nominees so Gubatayao was declared the winner without a vote.  

Also Wednesday, the board agreed to send one board member to the annual Association of Alaska School Boards annual conference. That conference is set for Nov. 9-12 in Anchorage.

The school board’s next regular meeting is set for October 25.