The filing period for candidates seeking local elected office opens Aug. 1st, and will remain open through 5 p.m. Aug. 25th.

According to the Ketchikan Gateway Borough Clerk’s office, two three-year seats on the Borough Assembly will be open. They are now held by Todd Phillips and Jim Van Horn.

Three three-year-seats will be open on the Ketchikan Gateway Borough School Board. Those seats are currently held by Ralph Beardsworth, Stephen Bradford and Conan Steele. Steele was appointed to complete Colleen Scanlon’s term after she moved away and resigned her seat.

Residents interested in filing for any of the open borough positions can get more information at the clerk’s office in the White Cliff Building, or on the borough’s website:

The City of Ketchikan also has seats open, including the position of mayor.

Mayor Lew Williams III and City Council Members DeAnn Karlson and Bob Sivertsen all are ending their three-year terms.

A one-year City Council seat also will be open this election. That seat belongs to Matt Olsen, who is moving out of state and has resigned his seat, effective in August.

Information about filing for an elected position with the City of Ketchikan is available through the City Clerk’s office, located in City Hall on Front Street, downtown.